CHAIRMAN'S STATEMENT

Dr Jack Yeung

 

The mould and die sector is one of the cornerstones of industry, and good technology and good quality are crucial to it. Even highly industrialised developed countries rely on the mould and die sector for development. After many years of production, the standards of mould and die products in Hong Kong and on the Mainland are now approaching or have reached advanced international levels, and badly run or uncompetitive companies have failed and disappeared, leaving only companies which have a clear advantage in technology or customer base.

 

In 2016 the aggregate value of mould and die exports from China was 5.08% less than in 2015, but since the second half of 2016 exports from the Mainland and Hong Kong have stabilised. According to statistics from China Customs, mould and die exports from China in the first half of 2017 were worth USD $2,070,945,200, including injection moulds and stamping die moulds (along with parts) for use with plastics and metals. This was 11.13% above the same period in 2016. Although we have not yet returned to 2015 levels, the statistics show that the export situation has improved. As for imports of moulds and dies, there has been a slow decline since 2015, reflecting the gradual improvement in technology and quality in Mainland production, with less reliance on imports in consequence. The Chinabgao.com publication “The Mould and Die Industry in China 2016-2021: an Analytical Report on the Prospects for Market Supply and Demand” indicates that after a long period of development the mould and die industry is in a take-off period, and there is a good chance that the 400 billion barrier will be breached in the next 5 years.

 

In the last two years the mould and die industry has been in the front ranks for technological innovation. The main expressions of this include the wide-spread use of 3D printing in the manufacture of moulds, the introduction of smart features in moulds and the optimisation of large-scale plastic moulds, the maturing of large scale injection mould technology, and the refinement of standard components.

 

In the coming two years I shall continue to lead the members on our forward journey, improving the standard and efficiency of production technology and seeking new business opportunities through cross-industry co-operation.

 

One of the challenges we face at present is that, while raw material prices and the wage bill rise relentlessly, the prices of moulds and dies are falling, putting the industry under increased pressure. For this reason, our industry must continue to aim for high-end markets, creating high-precision and high-quality products with high added value. We should aim for the automobile, smart living and health-care markets, for example, and for the electronic consumer goods sector. At the same time, we must redouble our efforts to invest in new-style mould R&D and technology, and master the technology of new-style mould design and manufacture, along with smart management and automated control systems. This is the only way of opening up new markets and securing our position in the face of ever fiercer competition.

 

Mould and die manufacture is an important component of modern manufacturing, and also an important technological tool for industrial production and everyday goods, since advanced mould and die manufacturing technology provides a stimulus to other sectors. Moulds and dies also impinge on precision products and foundation industries in fields which include metals, machinery, chemicals, plastics, automobiles and electronics, where in terms of both the market and technology they are closely integrated components, so that progress on one side drives the other side forward. For this reason the mould and die companies in Hong Kong must get together with other foundation industries, to share resources, improve the exchange of technical information, technology and experience, and bring about joint advances in technology and capability, moving forward in step. For example, IOT technology, management technology and logistic technology can all be applied to mould and die manufacture. We are confident that by stimulating and inspiring each other, we can get the whole of foundation industry to “Go Global” at a faster pace and achieve prominence in the international market.

 

In the coming year the Council will continue its past practice of factory visit on the Mainland, to learn about their operating situation and real needs. We will also run cross-industry communication activities large and small, giving members the opportunity to exchange ideas about technology, the business environment and future industry trends with other sectors.

 

Last but not least, I would like to extend my heartfelt gratitude to fellow members for their unfailing support. It is an honour for me to serve the Council with Vice Chairman Mr Felix Choi and the new Executive Committee in the 2017-19 term. During this term, the Hong Kong Mould & Die Council will ride the new wave to open up more opportunities for members. Although we may come up against new challenges, we believe we can definitely overcome them with our wealth of experience and that we can grasp opportunities with the unwavering support of the stalwarts in the industry.

 

Moving forward to 2018, on behalf of the Council, I wish all the friends and supporters in the industry will step forward to grasp every splendid opportunity and start a new chapter together.

EN

主席的话

蔡俊杰先生

 

模具是工业领域最重要的基石之一,是一个靠着技术和品质存在的行业,即使是高度工业化的已开发国家,同样离不开模具发展。模具製造经过多年来的发展与,香港及内地的模具生产水平已接近或达到国际先进水平,经营不善或竞争力弱的企业已淘汰出局,生存下来的企业都有一定的技术、客源等优势。

 

中国2016年的模具出口总值较2015年录得5.08%的跌幅,但自2016年下半年起,内地及香港的出口总值均有回稳的趋势。据中国海关总署统计,中国2017年上半年模具出口为207,094.52万美元,当中包括塑胶及金属用的注塑及压铸模具及配件,总值较2016年同期上升11.13%。虽然未及2015年水平,但数字显示出口情况已有改善。同时,模具进口方面,自2015年起呈现缓慢下跌趋势,反映内地模具生产技术水平和质量正逐渐提高,从而减少进口依赖。根据中国报告大厅发佈的《2016-2021年中国模具行业市场供需前景预测深度研究报告》显示,模具行业经过长远的发展,目前处于上升时期,未来五年産值有望突破4,000亿。

 

近两年来,模具行业的技术创新走在前列,主要表现为:3D打印在模具製造中的广泛应用、模具的智能化与大型塑胶模具的优化、大型级进冲模技术的成熟及具标准件精细化等。

 

未来两年,我将继续带领会员迈步向前,提升业界的生产技术水平及效能,以及透过跨行业合作发掘新的商机。

 

现阶段的挑战,是模具原材料价格和工资不断上涨的同时,模具价格却在回落,增大了模具企业的压力。因此,模具行业要继续向高端市场发展,制造高精度、高质量、高增值的産品,如汽车、智能家居和医疗市场以及电子消费行业发展。此外,还要加大力度投入新型模具的研发及工艺,掌握新型模具设计与製造技术、智能管理及自动化控制系统,才能在日益激烈的竞争中打开市场,佔据一席之地。

 

模具製造是现代製造技术的重要组成部分,也是工业生产和日用生活品的重要工艺装备,因为製模技术愈先进,愈能带动其他行业。而且模具涉及金属、机械、化工、塑胶、汽车及电子等精密製品等及基础工业,无论在市场或技术层面上都是环环相扣、互相带动的。因此,香港模具应该与其他基础工业联合起来,共享资源,加强科技资讯、技术及经验的交流,实现技术与能力的双重提升与飞跃,与时并进。例如,物联网科技、智能管理系统、自动化物流配备等,均可应用在模具製造业上。因此,我们深信透过相互激盪与啟发,可以令整个基础工业加快「走出去」的步伐,在国际市场中脱颖而出。

 

未来一年,协会除了一如以往拜访会员内地厂房,瞭解他们的营运状况及真正需要,以及举办大大小小的跨行业交流活动,让会员可以与其他行业的会员交流技术、营商环境及未来行业趋势的看法。

 

最后,承蒙各位会员的支持及厚爱,让我可与副主席何柏坚先生,于2017-19年度继续为模协会员及业界服务。过去两年的活动得以成功推行,全赖一众执委携手参与及支持,我深信只要我们团结一致,抱着一份坚毅不屈、积极向上和勇敢面对挑战的精神,必然能够在危机之中找到发展的机遇,愿与所有香港模具业界同仁共勉之!

 

迈向2018年,我谨代表香港模具协会,祝愿业界能够并肩努力,抓紧机遇,迈步向前,揭开新的一页。

EN